• English
  • Japanese

Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) Data Backup Method and Precautions

1. Google Workspace data backup method | 2. Precautions concerning shared files and folders after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT) | 3. Precautions concerning groups after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT)

1. Google Workspace data backup method

This introduces how to use Google Takeout to back up Google Workspace data.

  1. Log into Keio mail (Gmail).

  2. Click on [Keio University] on the upper right of the Gmail screen, and click on [Manage your Google Account] in the pull-down menu.


  3. Click on "Data and privacy" in the left menu and click on "Download your date" in the "Download or delete your data".


  4. Click "Download Data".


  5. Check apps you want to back up, and click on [Next step].
    At first, all services including email (Gmail) are selected.


  6. Select menu of "Delivery method", "Frequency", "File type and size". Click on [Create export].
    In this example, "file format: zip, and delivery method: send download link by email" are selected.


  7. It may take hours to days for Archive to be completed.

    When Archive is completed, you will receive email like that shown below.


  8. It is downloaded as a zip file, so it can be saved anywhere under any name.


  9. Open (extract) the saved data file.
    For the format of the data, refer to "Data Download: Information by service."

2. Precautions concerning shared files and folders after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT)

Shared files and folders in My Drive or a shared drive (of which you are the only administrator) will no longer be visible to shared users after you leave the university.
* Please move these to a shared drive or change the owner of the files and folders you are sharing in My Drive.

Operation Manual

3. Precautions concerning groups after an account is deleted (IMPORTANT)

If the last or only administrator of a group leaves the university, the other members will no longer be able to use that group.
* Please configure the group so that it has multiple administrators or transfer its ownership.

Operation Manual

Last-Modified: October 22, 2021

The content ends at this position.